Thursday, June 25, 2009

This Sunday on Radio Bremen

Robin Proper-Sheppard will be the central guest this Sunday on 'On The Tracks' on Radio Bremen. The two hour show will highlight his career and play songs Robin selected. Check the above link for a livestream between 22:05 and 24:00.

Sunday, June 21, 2009

Adam Franklin & Bolts Of Melody

There's a new interview with Adam Franklin over on
I copy/pasted the part where he talks about Sophia below, but do read the rest of the interview as it's really great.

PS Adam is currently touring the US with his band Bolts Of Melody.

AF: I just got back from doing a ‘Sophia’ tour as well. I don’t know if I mentioned that band the last time. That’s a band I’ve played with on and off for the last twelve years. There was a Swervedriver/Sophia split release. This guy, Robin Proper-Sheppard, who is from San Diego but has lived in London for the last fifteen years, myself and Steve (Steve George) from Swervedriver played very early on in Sophia. But Sophia never plays in the States, does stuff in Europe mainly. It was cool, we used to tour in a bus. A string quartet on stage, about ten people onstage. It was cool.

FCJ: Did you arrange any of the stuff?

AF: No I don’t do any of the writing. I just come in and play Robins stuff. The funny thing with the strings early on when we toured with Sophia a few years ago, no members of the band were smoking Marijuana, but the whole string section was. It was sort of a reversal of what you might expect (laughter). The string section were the stoners (laughter).

Tuesday, June 02, 2009

Waxing Gibbous

Mr Malcolm Middleton - member of the Sophia Collective and quite possibly the greatest songwriter North of Sophia - just released a new record called 'Waxing Gibbous'.

I just got my paws on a copy and it's brilliant as usual. Just check out the epic current single "Red Travellin' Socks" and you'll know what I mean.

The CD is packaged in a nice book pack-style and can be purchased on-line at the Full Time Hobby shop - or at any good 'off-line' record shop that somehow seems to survive in your neighbourhood.

Here's the track list:
1. Red Travellin Socks
2. Kiss At The Station
3. Carry Me
4. Zero
5. Stop Doing Be Good
6. Dont Want To Sleep Tonight
7. Shadows
8. Ballad Of Fuck All
9. Box & Knife
10. Made Up Your Mind
11. Subset of The World
12. Love On The Run

And here's a few spots where you can feast yer eyes on some more Malcolmness:
- The Quietus Documentary
- Song, By Toad interview + session
- Off The Beaten Tracks session